The Four Stages of Advanced Contemplation

aka thinking about stuff is an ancient practice

The Thrive Global Community welcomes voices from many spheres on our open platform. We publish pieces as written by outside contributors with a wide range of opinions, which don’t necessarily reflect our own. Community stories are not commissioned by our editorial team and must meet our guidelines prior to being published.

Like a lot of authors, I write because there are so many ideas packed in my thought.

When it’s all going well, writing and sharing them creates a flow like a well oiled machine. Ideas percolate…I write about them…new ideas generate and mature…I write about them…

Fellow introverts can especially relate to these concepts of contemplation, but maybe you didn’t know that contemplation is an ancient practice, and there’s a progression to the process.

The stages were identified and named by ancient yogis and I’ll keep my summary short. Then you can go about your day and contemplate it!


Sravana means listening. Picture a student sitting at the feet of the teacher and taking in every word.

In sravana you’re taking in or absorbing without interaction.

Today we’re not typically sitting at the feet of a teacher, but instead we’re reading a blog article or a book, watching a YouTube video, listening to a podcast, or sitting in a seminar.

Whatever the format, we’re absorbing the information without chewing on it or analyzing it. That comes next.


Manana is the “chewing on it” phase. We use our words to talk it through, maybe internally or maybe with others.

It’s a state of contemplation without joy or grief.

You may watch that video over and over again while you continue to work through it in your own thought.

In manana we use our language, our words and narration to ponder what we’ve just absorbed.


In nididhyasana the words fade away. You’ve been absorbed into the meaning.

Like cradling your newborn baby, you don’t have to say a single word or think a single thought to be deep in an overwhelming sense and state of love.

It’s silent because the understanding is beyond words. It’s formless, wordless insight.

You’re no longer thinking, you just are. Information has become knowledge. This is nididhyasana.


Finally the wondering and the activity of the mind falls away.

You’ve taken it all in, you’ve pondered and contemplated, you’ve been absorbed in the meaning and feeling, and now there are no more questions.

Sakshatkara moves beyond the individual insight. It’s beyond the functioning of the human mind.

The questions disappear, not because you’ve humanly answered them all but because they’ve been resolved.

It’s a state of self realization. You are one with the universal consciousness.

It’s likely you’ve been practicing the ancient art of contemplation your entire life.

Naming the stages and understanding the differences can act like a road map for you as you move along your spiritual journey.

Thanks for reading, and you may enjoy this piece too:

Isn’t Wondering Just the Same Thing as Worrying?
I’m asking for a friend


I want to send you my free guide, “5 Days to More Peace, More Prosperity, and More Happiness”. Click here to get the guide for free!

Visit me at

Cross posted at and Change Your Mind Change Your Life

Share your comments below. Please read our commenting guidelines before posting. If you have a concern about a comment, report it here.

You might also like...

Whitney Gordon-Mead quote

The Power of Contemplation: 10 Ways to Harness Greater Peace and Joy

by Whitney Gordon-Mead, MSc

Lobsang Chunzom: “Now is a good time to look at work culture in a new way”

by Ben Ari

What the French Taught Me About Being an Entrepreneur

by Drema Dial, PhD
We use cookies on our site to give you the best experience possible. By continuing to browse the site, you agree to this use. For more information on how we use cookies, see our Privacy Policy.